WHAT MATTERS

On 10 December 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in the Palais de Chaillot in Paris. This date is considered an historic milestone in the history of humankind. The declaration’s thirty articles belong to the list of universally recognized values and serve as a foundation for many national constitutions. Despite the recognition afforded human rights, a wide gap still yawns in many countries between claims and reality.
In Leukerbad, we will be presenting a video work by Ulrich Schreiber and Norbert Kron, in which authors, creative artists, children, and students from around the world each read one of the articles in their mother tongue. Subtitled in eight languages, ‘What Matters’ was presented at the Literature Festival Berlin and at the Innsbruck International, the biennale for contemporary art.

In extension of the film ‘What Matters’, Karl Ruprecht and Ali Ghandtschi would like to continue the project by asking creative artists and authors to read one of the articles of human rights in his or her native tongue or dialect in order to incorporate more languages and dialects in the canon of human rights. Assembled into a film with subtitles, it is intended to be shown at literary festivals around the world and on Human Rights Day, 10 December 2018—the 70th anniversary of the declaration—in select political buildings in Germany, France, and Switzerland.

What Matters So far we have been able to record contributions from the following personalities:

Nina Hoss, Germany
David Grossman, Israel
Ai Weiwei, China
Patti Smith, USA
Viktor Yerofeyev, Russia
Elnathan John, Nigeria
Nils Landgren, Sweden
Petina Gappah, Zimbabwe
Goce Smilevski, Macedonia
Herta Müller, Germany/Romania
Eva Mattes, Germany
Elfriede Jelinek, Austria
David Van Reybrouck, Belgium
Wolf Biermann, Germany
Vivienne Westwood, Great Britain
Can Dündar, Turkey
Matina Gedeck, Germany
Haris Vlavianos, Greece
Pankaj Mishra, India
Paata Shamugia, Georgia
Anna Weidenholzer, Germany
Maite Carranza, Catalonia
Fadhil Al-Azzawi, Iraq
Simon Rattle, Great Britain
Lina Meruane, Chile
Jennifer Clement, USA/Mexico
Olena Herasymyuk, Ukraine
Alida Bremer, Croatia
Michael Krüger, Germany
Bora Ćosić, Serbia
Peter Schneider, Germany
Bakhtyar Ali, Irak/Kurdistan
Serhij Zhadan, Ukraine
Rafael Cardoso, Brasil
Nora E. Gomringer, Switzerland/Germany
Janne Teller, Denmark
Jan Koneffke, Germany
Peter Stefan Jungk, Germany/USA
Priya Basil, Great Britain
Salman Rushdie, Great Britain/India

HOME PAGE
NEWSLETTER
DEUTSCH | FRANÇAIS

LITERARY WALK
23rd Leukerbad International Literary Festival
29 June to 1 July 2018

WHAT MATTERS

Am 10. Dezember 1948 wurde die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen im «Palais de Chaillot» in Paris verkündet. Dieses Datum gilt als historischer Meilenstein in der Geschichte der Menschheit. Die 30 Artikel gehören heute zum universell gültigen Wertekatalog und dienen zahlreichen Staatsverfassungen als Grundlage. Trotz der Anerkennung, die die Menschenrechte erfahren, klafft bis heute in vielen Ländern ein tiefer Graben zwischen Anspruch und Wirklichkeit.
Wir präsentieren in Leukerbad eine Videoarbeit von Ulrich Schreiber in Zusammenarbeit mit Norbert Kron, in der Autoren, Kulturschaffende, Kinder und Studierende aus aller Welt jeweils einen Artikel der Deklaration in ihrer Muttersprache vortragen. Bereits in acht Sprachen untertitelt, wurde «What Matters» während des Literaturfestival Berlin und bei Innsbruck International, der Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, präsentiert.

Ausgehend vom Film «What Matters», möchten Hans Ruprecht und Ali Ghandtschi das Projekt fortsetzen und Kulturschaffende bitten, Artikel der Menschenrechte in ihrer Muttersprache vorzutragen, um damit weitere Sprachen und Dialekte in den Kanon der Menschenrechte einzubinden. Als Film montiert und untertitelt, soll diese Arbeit sowohl auf Literaturfestivals um den ganzen Globus als auch zum Tag der Menschenrechte am 10. Dezember 2018 – dem 70. Jahrestag der Erklärung – in ausgewählten politischen Gebäuden in Deutschland, Frankreich und der Schweiz präsentiert werden.

What Matters Bisher haben wir Beiträge folgender Persönlichkeiten aufzeichnen können:

Nina Hoss, Deutschland
David Grossman, Israel
Ai Weiwei, China
Patti Smith, USA
Viktor Yerofeyev, Russland
Elnathan John, Nigeria
Nils Landgren, Schweden
Petina Gappah, Zimbabwe
Goce Smilevski, Mazedonien Herta Müller, Deutschland/Rumänien
Eva Mattes, Deutschland
Elfriede Jelinek, Österreich
David Van Reybrouck, Belgien
Wolf Biermann, Deutschland
Vivienne Westwood, Grossbritannien
Can Dündar, Türkei
Matina Gedeck, Deutschland
Haris Vlavianos, Griechenland
Pankaj Mishra, Indien
Paata Shamugia, Georgien
Anna Weidenholzer, Deutschland
Maite Carranza, Katalonien
Fadhil Al-Azzawi, Irak
Simon Rattle, Grossbritannien
Lina Meruane, Chile
Jennifer Clement, USA/Mexiko
Olena Herasymyuk, Ukraine
Alida Bremer, Kroatien
Michael Krüger, Deutschland
Bora Ćosić, Serbien
Peter Schneider, Deutschland
Bakhtyar Ali, Irak/Kurdistan
Serhij Zhadan, Ukraine
Rafael Cardoso, Brasilien
Nora E. Gomringer, Schweiz/Deutschland
Janne Teller, Dänemark
Jan Koneffke, Deutschland
Peter Stefan Jungk, Deutschland/USA
Priya Basil, Grossbritannien
Salman Rushdie, Grossbritannien/Indien

STARTSEITE
NEWSLETTER

LITERARISCHE WANDERUNG
23. Internationales Literaturfestival Leukerbad
29. Juni bis 1. Juli 2018