WHAT MATTERS

On 10 December 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in the Palais de Chaillot in Paris. This date is considered an historic milestone in the history of humankind. The declaration’s thirty articles belong to the list of universally recognized values and serve as a foundation for many national constitutions. Despite the recognition afforded human rights, a wide gap still yawns in many countries between claims and reality.
In Leukerbad, we will be presenting a video work by Ulrich Schreiber and Norbert Kron, in which authors, creative artists, children, and students from around the world each read one of the articles in their mother tongue. Subtitled in eight languages, ‘What Matters’ was presented at the Literature Festival Berlin and at the Innsbruck International, the biennale for contemporary art.

In extension of the film ‘What Matters’, Karl Ruprecht and Ali Ghandtschi would like to continue the project by asking creative artists and authors to read one of the articles of human rights in his or her native tongue or dialect in order to incorporate more languages and dialects in the canon of human rights. Assembled into a film with subtitles, it is intended to be shown at literary festivals around the world and on Human Rights Day, 10 December 2018—the 70th anniversary of the declaration—in select political buildings in Germany, France, and Switzerland.

What Matters So far we have been able to record contributions from the following personalities:

Nina Hoss, Germany
David Grossman, Israel
Ai Weiwei, China
Patti Smith, USA
Viktor Yerofeyev, Russia
Elnathan John, Nigeria
Nils Landgren, Sweden
Petina Gappah, Zimbabwe
Goce Smilevski, Macedonia
Herta Müller, Germany/Romania
Eva Mattes, Germany
Elfriede Jelinek, Austria
David Van Reybrouck, Belgium
Wolf Biermann, Germany
Vivienne Westwood, Great Britain
Can Dündar, Turkey
Matina Gedeck, Germany
Haris Vlavianos, Greece
Pankaj Mishra, India
Paata Shamugia, Georgia
Anna Weidenholzer, Germany
Maite Carranza, Catalonia
Fadhil Al-Azzawi, Iraq
Simon Rattle, Great Britain
Lina Meruane, Chile
Jennifer Clement, USA/Mexico
Olena Herasymyuk, Ukraine
Alida Bremer, Croatia
Michael Krüger, Germany
Bora Ćosić, Serbia
Peter Schneider, Germany
Bakhtyar Ali, Irak/Kurdistan
Serhij Zhadan, Ukraine
Rafael Cardoso, Brasil
Nora E. Gomringer, Switzerland/Germany
Janne Teller, Denmark
Jan Koneffke, Germany
Peter Stefan Jungk, Germany/USA
Priya Basil, Great Britain
Salman Rushdie, Great Britain/India

HOME PAGE
NEWSLETTER
DEUTSCH | FRANÇAIS

LITERARY WALK
23rd Leukerbad International Literary Festival
29 June to 1 July 2018

WHAT MATTERS

Le 10 décembre 1948, la Déclaration universelle des Droits de l’homme a été adoptée par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies au Palais de Chaillot à Paris. Cette date fait office de jalon historique dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Ces trente articles font aujourd’hui partie du catalogue des valeurs universelles et servent de base à de nombreuses constitutions. Malgré la reconnaissance des Droits de l’homme, il subsiste encore aujourd’hui dans de nombreux pays un fossé entre ces revendications et la réalité.
Nous présentons à Loèche-les-Bains un travail vidéo d’Ulrich Schreiber en collaboration avec Norbert Kron, dans lequel des auteurs, des artistes, des enfants et des étudiants du monde entier lisent un article de la Déclaration dans leur langue maternelle. Déjà sous-titré en huit langues, « What Matters » a été présenté au Festival de littérature de Berlin et lors de la biennale d’art contemporain Innsbruck International.

Partant du film « What Matters », Hans Ruprecht et Ali Ghandtschi voudraient prolonger le projet et demandent aux artistes de lire des articles des Droits de l’homme dans leur langue maternelle pour inclure ainsi d’autres langues et dialectes dans ce canon. Sous la forme d’un film sous-titré, ce travail sera présenté lors de festivals de littérature dans le monde entier ainsi que lors de la journée des Droits de l’homme le 10 décembre 2018 – 70ème anniversaire de la déclaration – dans une sélection de monuments politiques en Allemagne, en France et en Suisse.

What Matters Jusqu'à présent, nous avons pu enregistrer les contributions des personnalités suivantes :

Nina Hoss, Allemagne
David Grossman, Israël
Ai Weiwei, Chine
Patti Smith, USA
Viktor Yerofeyev, Russie
Elnathan John, Nigeria
Nils Landgren, Suède
Petina Gappah, Zimbabwe
Goce Smilevski, Macédoine
Herta Müller, Allemagne/Roumanie
Eva Mattes, Allemagne
Elfriede Jelinek, Autriche
David Van Reybrouck, Belgique
Wolf Biermann, Allemagne
Vivienne Westwood, Grande-Bretagne
Can Dündar, Turquie
Matina Gedeck, Allemagne
Haris Vlavianos, Grèce
Pankaj Mishra, Inde
Paata Shamugia, Géorgie
Anna Weidenholzer, Allemagne
Maite Carranza, Catalogne
Fadhil Al-Azzawi, Irak
Simon Rattle, Grande-Bretagne
Lina Meruane, Chili
Jennifer Clement, USA/Mexique
Olena Herasymyuk, Ukraine
Alida Bremer, Croatie
Michael Krüger, Allemagne
Bora Ćosić, Serbie
Peter Schneider, Allemagne
Bakhtyar Ali, Irak/Kurdistan
Serhij Zhadan, Ukraine
Rafael Cardoso, Brésil
Nora E. Gomringer, Suisse/Allemagne
Janne Teller, Danemark
Jan Koneffke, Allemagne
Peter Stefan Jungk, Allemagne/USA
Priya Basil, Grande-Bretagne
Salman Rushdie, Grande-Bretagne/Inde

PAGE D'ACCUEIL
NEWSLETTER
DEUTSCH | ENGLISH

RANDONNÉE LITTÉRAIRE
23ème Festival International de Littérature
29 juin au 1 juillet 2018