Awarded annually by the Schloss Leuk Foundation, the Spycher: Leuk Literature Prize is unique. Every year for three years, the prizewinners are invited for an eight-week stay in Leuk, which Felicitas Hoppe described as THE BEST PLACE IN THE WORLD in her story of the same name. At its feet extends a landscape with the Pfyn-Finges Nature Park, a meeting point of two cultures and languages, that is crossed by the wild Rhone River and opens onto wide horizons. The southern climate brings sweetness to the grapes and figs. Between Rilke’s home in his final years and the hill on which he is buried, Leuk inspires, attracts, and enchants those who visit. If the prize’s value need be named in monetary terms, then: over 30,000 francs.

Since 2001 renowned authors have left literary trace here: Joanna Bator, Lukas Bärfuss, Marcel Beyer, John Burnside, Mircea Cărtărescu, Gerhard Falkner, Lawinia Greenlaw, Durs Grünbein, Thomas Hettche, Michael Hofmann, Barbara Honigmann, Felicitas Hoppe, Abbas Khider, Barbara Köhler, Laszlo Krasnahorkai, Sibylle Lewitscharoff, Martin Mosebach, Marie NDiaye, Ulrich Peltzer, Michael Roes, Daniel de Roulet, Gilles Rozier, Judith Schalansky, Mikhail Shiskin, Alissa Walser, Adam Zagajewski, Katharina Schultens. In 2017, the Spycher: Leuk Literature Prize was awarded to Stefan Hertmans.

Permanent traces of the authors’ stays appear through Dörlemann Press’ Spycher imprint, like Felicitas Hoppe’s story THE BEST PLACE IN THE WORLD and Barbara Köhler’s 36 VIEWS OF MOUNT GORWETSCH.
The Leukerbad Literary Festival and the Spycher: Leuk Literature Prize are at the heart of Palais Valais, a network of literary initiatives in Valais. As representatives of this cooperation, former prizewinners take part the Leukerbad Literary Festival. LUKAS BÄRFUSS, FELICITAS HOPPE and JUDITH SCHALANSKY will appear this year.


The 2018 Spycher: Leuk Literature Prize will be awarded on Sunday, September 16, at 11:00 am in Schloss Leuk.


24th Leukerbad International Literary Festival
28 to 30 June 2019